Why blog

The Sept-Oct 2006 editon of Preaching, Mark Batterson gives 10 reasons for blogging.

#1 Blogging is a stewardship issue. It’s one way I share what God is teaching me.
#2 Blogging helps me remember what God doesn’t want me to forget.
#3 Blogging is one way of capturing the things God is revealing to me.
#4 Blogging is a form of autobiography.
#5 Blogging is a way to carry on a conversation with lots of people at the same time.
#6 Blogging is a sermon supplement. Actually, sermons might be a blogging supplment.
#7 Blogging is the way I leave a trail. My kids and grandkids can read it someday.
#8 Blogging is cathartic. It helps me process what I’m thinking and feeling.
#9 Blogging is the way I share what is happening in my head and my heart.
#10 Blogging is a form of digital discipleship. Neo-scrolls.

2 Responses

  1. […] I’m hoping to find a wordpress theme I really like and stick w/ it for a while. I keep bouncing around w/ ones I think I need to keep. But none have really been “the one”. But I’m noticing WordPress is still gaining some converts. Seems that Blogger, WordPress, and TypePad are the kings of the hill. Not sure of the order though. They all work well though. Perry Noble wrote about why he blogs the other day. Pretty good read. Mark Batterson has made a Top Ten list of why he blogs as well. Participate! Leave your comment. […]

  2. […] Perry Noble wrote about why he blogs the other day. Pretty good read. Mark Batterson has made a Top Ten list of why he blogs as […]

Leave a Reply

